Skip to content

Am I the one? (poetry)

December 21, 2011

Am I the One

You said you loved me

You said I was the one

You said I was your baby

You said I was fun

But now you wanna change the things you used to like about me

Because wifey material now you don’t see

You want a ruka that’s laid back, quiet and lets you run the street

But Papi that’s not me

I’m the one that gots your back till the day I die

That’s why I don’t understand why you hurt me. Why you make me cry

All I wanna do is love you till the very end

I wanna be your best friend

But nah you look at me just like another bitch you can throw away

But thugs don’t go down easy this homegirl don’t play

So love me and treat me right

If not… get ready for a fight

I’m tired of being hurt used and abused

lost, lonely and confused

I’m the hyna you wished for night and day

now its your choice if I go or stay……………………….

Lost in a world of confusion and pain

All I can do is cry

Wishing with all my heart things would just stay the same

All I can do is cry

I get so frustrated and my tears irritate me

But All I can do is cry

Others don’t understand I wish they could see

See the invisible battle going on inside of me

All I can do is cry

I’m tired of the tears

I’m tired of the fears

I crave anger because it’s all I have to hold onto

When I feel like I’m in a sinking ship and there’s nothing I can do

Anger is what gets me through the day

Anger pushes all the worries away

Anger is what holds the tears at bay

All I want is for everything to be ok…

 

©  April M. Barbosa 2008

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

