Skip to content

To my bro (poetry)

December 22, 2011

To my brother

I remember the day you were born and I held you in my arms tight

I loved waking up and helping mom take care of you at night

your smiling face always brought me cheer

Damn it Bro I cant believe your not here

Why did you do that shit you did

Then the law chose to see you as an adult and not as a kid

Now here you are shackled and in orange from head to toe

and off to an adult prison your young ass is about to go

The judge don’t know you like I do

Fuck!! I wish I was there to protect you

You aren’t street smart and you don’t know your way

Now your in a place where the people wont play

Please baby brother don’t get involved in prison politics that are way over your young head

That’s the way youngsters end up dead

Be strong and have faith in God and let Him lead your way

Cause if you fuck up again. Prison is where your forever stay

Or they’ll bring you home in a body bag

and all will have from your prison stay is a toe tag

so please Bro listen to me and stay out of trouble and be good live right

follow God and please don’t fight

I love you bro and till the day you are out you’ll be on my mind and in my heart

Please God let it all be ok so when he gets out he can make a new start

 

©  April M. Barbosa 2008

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

