Skip to content

In loving memory of my stepdad ((poetry))

May 26, 2012

God whispered your name in the wind

He knew you needed rest He knew it was your time to go with Him

You endured a few long years of pain

Now you are in God’s arms healthy and new again

May God ease the sorrow in the hearts of those you left behind,

Memories of bonito and San Jose flow through my mind

Listening to Tom Petty and you telling me music was the best way to let art flow

I was 9 then and didn’t understand what you meant but now I know

You had a big part in shaping who I am today

You taught me to listen to music and hear the emotion not just to hear what they say

I didn’t know how much you meant to me until now you are gone I am sorry I wasn’t brave enough to say good bye

The tears won’t wash that regret away no matter how much I cry

I love you daddy bobby I am sorry through these years we grew apart

I wish I could have told you that you will always have a place in my heart

 

RIP Bobby  Sanchez the only man I ever called dad aside from my bio dad

By April M. Barbosa © 5/25/2012

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

