Skip to content

I am just a mom (poetry)

August 8, 2012

I am just a mom

Wise words whispered through the trees

I am just a mom

It echoes in the breeze

The voice of a woman of unknown age and race

I am just a mom

A woman clarifying her place

Mom, such a small word with a huge meaning behind it all

Mom, the one who will run through fire to catch her children before they can fall

Motherhood brings a love no other can replicate

But it can also bring a pain so strong nothing can placate

To be a mother is to bear your soul, to let someone into the deepest recesses of your heart and mind

A mother’s love is the strongest you will ever find

Come here my child, hold mommy’s hand

I promise to explain life to you, the best way I can

I will give you all the wisdom that I know

And I promise to always be here by your side

To guide you the best I know how

I know I will make mistakes along the way

But you have to promise to remember I am just a mom

© 8/7/2012 April M. Barbosa

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

